top of page

Why should I learn Music Theory?


Most guitarists are traditionally taught to play music a little different than other musicians. A lot of the time, guitarists start learning to play the guitar before they learn very much about music theory. There's nothing wrong with it, because a guitar isn't laid out in a very music theory friendly manner. If you learn to play chords, or notes first, you will have something to relate to if you decide to learn music theory.

But won't music theory ruin my musical inspiration?

I'm sure you might have heard this at some point. Yes, there are some awesome guitarists that don't know much about music theory, but the thing is, they are the exception. Music theory is just another language. It can help you speak and relate to other musicians easier. Instead of telling people you are just playing a "shape" on the fretboard, you could tell them you're playing the Em pentatonic scale. Other musicians, whether they're guitarists or not, will know what you mean and can jump right into to the music.

Ok, so you say you don't actually know music theory right now? Well, do you know what the G chord is? If so, then you do know music theory. You are just giving a name to what you're playing.

The reason some people say that music theory ruins creativity is because they stick to close to the "rules". As captain barbosa would say "they're more like guidlines." Music theory isn't a hard set language and you can basically do anything that sounds good.

I took two music theory classes while I was in college and that was probably one of the best things I could have done for my playing. Everything started to click and make more sense. Now I can just mess around without having a set path, and yet it still sounds good. When I started taking my own lessons, my teacher said that I knew more music theory than most of the students that he usually teaches. He also said that most students he gets that do know some music theory, know the very basics. Our lessons move long at a fairly fast pace, because he doesn't have to teach me this stuff. Ok, sorry for bragging. I'm just trying to show how music theory can help.

Let me know your thoughts and questions below!

810-705-9655

Pentwater, MI

  • Facebook
  • YouTube

2016 by Wildfire Guitars. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page